TinniTool Tinnitus Klangtherapie (Stetho

Clinical studies

 

Neuro-Music Therapy for Recent-Onset Tinnitus

Miriam Grapp, Elisabeth Hutter, Heike Argstatter, Peter K. Plinkert, Musiktherapieforschung Heidelberg

The aim was the evaluation of the neuro-music therapy approach. In all, 15 patients with recent-onset tinnitus took part in our manualized short-term music-therapeutic treatment. Score changes in TQ and APSA from start to end of treatment indicated significant improvements in tinnitus-related distress. According to the Jacobson and Truax reliable change index, 73.3% of the patients showed a reliable reduction in individual TQ-score. The neuro-music therapy for recent-onset tinnitus introduced in this pilot study seems to provide an effective treatment option for patients with recent-onset tinnitus.

PDF-Symbol_edited.png

 

Long-term effects of the Music Therapy in patients with chronic tinnitus

Heike Argstatter, Miriam Grapp, Elisabeth Hutter, Peter Plinkert, Musiktherapieforschung Heidelberg

 

The Model of Music Therapy for Chronic Tinnitus is a manualized short term treatment. It has proven to be efficient in reducing tinnitus symptoms in the short run. 206 patients who had attended the neuro-music therapy were addressed in a structured follow-up questionnaire survey. 76% of the patients achieved a reliable reduction in their tinnitus scores, the overall tinnitus distress. 87% of the patients were satisfied by the way they were treated during therapy, and 71% of the patients did not undergo any further treatment after. Evaluation of therapeutic elements displays, that only music therapy specific interventions were rated helpful by the patients.

PDF-Symbol_edited.png

 

Music reduces Tinnitus loudness and tinnitus-related auditory cortex activity

Hidehiko Okamoto, Henning Stracke, Wolfgang Stoll, Christo Pantev, Wilhelms-Universität Münster

Cortical organization can be modified by behavioral training, we attempted to reduce tinnitus loudness by exposing chronic tinnitus patients to music, which was modified to contain no energy in the frequency range surrounding the individual tinnitus frequency. After 12 months of regular listening, the target patient group showed significantly reduced subjective tinnitus loudness and concomitantly exhibited reduced evoked activity in auditory cortex areas corresponding to the tinnitus frequency compared to patients who had received an analogous placebo notched music treatment. These findings indicate that tinnitus loudness can be significantly diminished by an enjoyable, customtailored music treatment.

PDF-Symbol_edited.png

 

Sound Therapy against Tinnitus

H. Argstatter, A. Nickel, A. Rupp, S. Hoth, H. Bolay, Zentrum für Musiktherapieforschung, Universität Heidelberg

The German Centre for Music Therapy Research (DZM) in collaboration with the University of Heidelberg tested an innovative music therapy treatment for chronic tinnitus. The treatment concept includes the incorporation of the tinnitus into a musically controllable hearing process. Furthermore, the musical hearing exercises should positively influence the altered brain areas and lead to “normalisation”. The results demonstrate encouraging successes.

PDF-Symbol_edited.png

 

Neuroscientific study attested positive results with the implementation of sound therapy against Tinnitus

H. Argstatter, S. Noth, G. Dyckhoff, A. Nickel, H. Bolay, H. Weidauer

The two years during study was supported by the Klaus Tschira Foundation and substantiated the neuroscience cause-and effect chain between chronically Tinnitus and the sound therapy treatment. A group of scientist out of different German university clinics and the German centre for music therapy could for the first time show and verify the neuroscientific effect of the sound therapy treatment in case of chronically Tinnitus using medical imaging methods. Dr. rer. med. Christoph Krick and Prof Dr. Hans Volker Bolay proved the case that the micro anatomic changes in brain are definitely related with the abatement of clinical symptoms. The MRI taken pictures advice that the sound therapy activates those brain areas which are under suspicions amplify to the relevant clinical symptoms. The Sigrid and Viktor Dulger Award will be done every two years for outstanding and innovative Healthcare research whereas they give a great attention to the hands on practice.

PDF-Symbol_edited.png

 

Tinnitus Treatment with Customized Sounds

Jaime Pineda, Richard Moore, Erik Viirre, Departments of Cognitive Science, University of California, and School of Medicine, La Jolla, USA

Recent studies have indicated that the pathophysiological basis for tinnitus may be abnormal activity in the auditory areas of the brain rather than aberrant activity in the periphery. Tinnitus-related activity leads to changes in tonotopic representation in auditory cortex. However, such reorganization can be reversed through training-induced changes in the response pattern of cortical neurons. We address this problem by using customized sounds that reproduce the subjective experience to reduce overactive auditory circuits. The results of two preliminary studies indicate that customized sound therapy (CST) aimed at this central dysfunction reduces tinnitus quickly and safely. Participants described immediate relief, showed changes on the Tinnitus Handicap Questionnaire, and reported changes in hearing threshold within 3 weeks. We also saw changes in the intensity dependence of the auditory N100 in tinnitus patients, supporting the idea that tinnitus reflects a reorganization of tonotopic maps in the auditory cortex. The main correlate of this reorganization was the enhanced contrast between responses to the perceived tinnitus pitch and tones approximately one octave lower. After 3 weeks of CST, the intensity dependence to the tinnitus pitch decreased, making these responses more similar to those from normal subjects responding to tones in the same frequency.

Études cliniques

 

Thérapie neuro-musicale pour les acouphènes aigus

Miriam Grapp, Elisabeth Hutter, Heike Argstatter, Peter K. Plinkert, Musiktherapieforschung Heidelberg

L'objectif de cette étude pilote était d'évaluer l'approche thérapeutique neuro-musicale comme nouvelle option de traitement pour les patients souffrant d'acouphènes aigus. Au total, 15 patients souffrant d'acouphènes aigus y ont participé. La comparaison entre le début et la fin du traitement a montré une amélioration significative. Selon la méthode de mesure Jacobson et Truax, 73,3 % des patients ont montré une réduction fiable selon le questionnaire TQ. La thérapie neuro-musicale semble être une option de traitement efficace pour les patients souffrant d'acouphènes aigus.

 

Effets à long terme de la musicothérapie chez les patients souffrant d'acouphènes chroniques

Heike Argstatter, Miriam Grapp, Elisabeth Hutter, Peter Plinkert, Musiktherapieforschung Heidelberg

 

Le modèle de musicothérapie pour les acouphènes chroniques est un traitement à court terme. Il consiste en neuf sessions de 50 minutes réparties sur cinq jours consécutifs. Il s'est avéré efficace pour réduire les symptômes d'acouphènes en peu de temps. L'effet à long terme du traitement doit maintenant être exploré. La thérapie neuro-musicale a été testée chez 206 patients. 76% des patients ont obtenu une réduction significative de leurs acouphènes. 87% des patients étaient satisfaits du traitement. 71% des patients n'ont pas eu besoin de traitement supplémentaire. La musicothérapie pour les acouphènes chroniques semble être efficace à long terme.

 

La thérapie musicale/sonore réduit les acouphènes en diminuant l'activité du cortex auditif

Hidehiko Okamoto, Henning Stracke, Wolfgang Stoll, Christo Pantev, Wilhelms-Universität Münster

Les chercheurs ont filtré exactement les fréquences de la musique qui correspondaient à la fréquence respective des acouphènes. L'objectif était d'utiliser leur musique modulée pour épargner et calmer spécifiquement les cellules nerveuses mal branchées. Résultat : tous les patients du groupe ayant bénéficié d'une musique sur mesure ont déclaré que le bruit de leurs acouphènes était devenu nettement plus silencieux. Les mesures du cerveau dans le groupe traité ont montré une réponse réduite aux stimuli auditifs dans la fréquence des acouphènes. Dans les groupes de contrôle, cependant, un résultat contraire a été observé.

 

Thérapie musicale pour les acouphènes chroniques

H. Argstatter, A. Nickel, A. Rupp, S. Hoth, H. Bolay, Zentrum für Musiktherapieforschung, Universität Heidelberg

Le centre allemand de recherche en musicothérapie DZM, en coopération avec l'université de Heidelberg, a testé une nouvelle méthode de traitement par musicothérapie des acouphènes chroniques. Le concept de traitement comprend l'intégration des acouphènes dans un processus d'écoute musicalement contrôlable. En outre, les exercices d'écoute musicale sont destinés à influencer positivement les régions cérébrales altérées et à conduire à une "normalisation". Les résultats sont encourageants.

 

Une étude neuroscientifique prouve l'effet de la thérapie musicale pour les acouphènes

H. Argstatter, S. Noth, G. Dyckhoff, A. Nickel, H. Bolay, H. Weidauer

Cette étude interdisciplinaire de deux ans, financée par la Fondation Klaus Tschira, a apporté des preuves neuroscientifiques de l'efficacité de la thérapie musicale pour les acouphènes chroniques. Le groupe de recherche de différents hôpitaux universitaires allemands et du Centre de recherche sur la musicothérapie a pu prouver pour la première fois l'effet du concept de traitement des acouphènes par musicothérapie au niveau neuroscientifique grâce à des techniques d'imagerie. Le Dr rer. med Christoph Krick et le Prof. Dr Hans Volker Bolay ont montré que les changements microanatomiques dans le cerveau sont clairement liés au soulagement des symptômes cliniques. Les images de résonance magnétique indiquent que la musicothérapie s'adresse aux zones du cerveau soupçonnées de transmettre l'amplification pathologique de symptômes cliniquement pertinents. Le prix Sigrid et Viktor Dulger est décerné tous les deux ans pour récompenser des réalisations exceptionnelles et innovantes en matière de recherche dans le domaine de la santé, avec un accent particulier sur les applications pratiques.

 

Traitement des acouphènes avec des sons sur mesure

Jaime Pineda, Richard Moore, Erik Viirre, Departments of Cognitive Science, University of California, and School of Medicine, La Jolla, USA

Des études récentes ont montré que la base physiopathologique des acouphènes pourrait être une activité anormale dans les zones auditives du cerveau plutôt qu'une activité anormale en périphérie. L'activité liée aux acouphènes entraîne des modifications de la présentation tonotopique dans le cortex auditif. Cependant, cette réorganisation peut être inversée par des changements induits par l'entraînement dans le schéma de réaction des neurones corticaux. Nous abordons ce problème en utilisant des sons adaptés individuellement qui reproduisent l'expérience subjective afin de réduire les circuits auditifs trop actifs. Les résultats de deux études préliminaires suggèrent que la thérapie sonore individualisée (TSC*) ciblée sur ce dysfonctionnement central réduit rapidement et en toute sécurité les acouphènes. Les participants ont décrit un soulagement immédiat, ont montré des changements sur le questionnaire relatif aux acouphènes et ont signalé des changements du seuil d'audition dans les 3 semaines. Nous avons également constaté des changements dans la dépendance de l'intensité du N100 auditif chez les patients souffrant d'acouphènes, ce qui soutient l'idée que les acouphènes reflètent une réorganisation des cartes tonotopiques dans le cortex auditif. La corrélation la plus importante de cette réorganisation était le contraste accru entre les réponses au niveau de l'acouphène perçu et les tons qui étaient environ une octave plus bas. Après 3 semaines de TSC, la dépendance de l'intensité à la hauteur des acouphènes a diminué, de sorte que ces réponses sont devenues plus semblables à celles des sujets normaux qui répondaient aux sons à la même fréquence.